How to delete Gmail account and Google account Permanently

If you have thought of deleting your Gmail and Google account permanently then you have come to the right place. We will be explaining step-by-step scenarios of this process.

By having a Google account we can access Google services such as Google Drive, Gmail, calendar, Google Play store, and more.

Before deleting your Gmail account, things to be considered

Before going to erase your account, keep in mind that you will be losing all your data forever. Few things to be considered :

By deleting your Gmail account you will no longer be able to use your Gmail username in the future. All your emails and account information will be gone.

When you delete your account you will no longer be able to send or receive emails from that email account. 

You cannot reset or recover the password associated with this account on your social network accounts.

Any useful information that has been saved with Chrome, like access to any free or paid apps and extensions.

You will be losing access to your data and contacts that have been linked to this email account if you are using a smartphone.

You can still be able to continue using Photos, drives and other services from your google account.

Things you have to do before you leave your account

If you want to download useful data like Emails, Photos, And other things before deleting your Google account, Google provides you the backup option for all your data

Open  accounts.google.com and log in to your account, which you want to delete.

Click “Data and Presentation” on the left-hand side.

Browse down and select “ delete a service or your account” from download, delete, or make a plan for your data

Here you will find the complete list of actions what do you want to do with your account, click “ download your data”, 

All the dialogue boxes have been automatically checked in by default, Select whichever data you want to save.

Click “Next step” by scrolling down

You can adapt the data how you want to be downloaded like send a download link via email or to drive or box or dropbox. You can also set the frequency of export.

Select “ Create export”, depending on how much information is to be retrieved the process could take some time.

Make sure that your Gmail account might have been linked to other services like bank accounts and any other websites, update them accordingly before deleting your Gmail account.

Deleting your Gmail account 

Go to  accounts.google.com  and sign in to your account

Select  “Data and Presentation” on the left-hand side.

Browse down and select “ delete a service or your account” from download, delete, or make a plan for your data

Select “Delete a Google service” from the deleted service or your account.

.

Enter your password, then click on Next

Select the trash can icon

 Enter your new Email address and click “ Send Verification Email“

Sign in to the non-Gmail account for verification and click on the link

Click “ Delete Gmail” after ticking the bottom box.

Delete Google Account permanently, do the following steps

  • Go to myaccounts.google.com and enter your account
  • Select “Data and Personalization” from the menu in the left-hand side column, scroll down and click on “ Delete a service or your account”
  • Then select “Delete your Google account”  
  • You will be redirected to the login page of your Gmail account into your password.
  • Now you will see all the content deleted instructions carefully and tick the boxes that appear below and then click “Delete Account” to finish the process.

How to delete a Gmail account permanently on an android phone

Deleting a Gmail account on your smartphone is similar to deleting the account on the computer. 

  • Open your account settings and click on Google after scrolling down

The rest of the steps are the same as the desktop version.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *