How do I delete my Telegram Account permanently?
There are millions of people who are using Telegram services over WhatsApp. But Telegram has privacy issue concerns as it is not using end-to-end encryption.
In today’s article, we will see how we can delete a Telegram account permanently.
How do I export my data before leaving Telegram?
Before deleting your Telegram account, make sure to download or export your personal data like chats, messages, photos, etc.
Make sure you are using the latest version of the Telegram Desktop to export all your data.
- Go to Telegram Desktop and click Settings
- Choose Export Telegram Data
- Select Export Chat History and select the data which you want to export.
- Now you can view your Telegram Data Offline.
What happens when you delete your telegram account?
When you delete your account, Telegram will permanently terminate your account along with your Messages, chats, data as well as your contacts are deleted beyond retrieval.
Deleting Telegram Account
Users can delete their Telegram account in multiple ways, you can do it by using an Android phone or IOS device.
You can also delete a Telegram account by using a Web browser.
How to deactivate my Telegram account on Android or IOS Device
Telegram does not have a delete account option in the Telegram app for mobile users.
Users will need to first go through the deactivation process for the deletion of their account.
- Open the Telegram app on your phone and click on the option Settings.
- Choose the option Privacy and Security.
- Scroll down to the section titled If Away For to delete your account.
- Here, You have to select a time period after which your telegram account is permanently deleted. By default 6 months has been set by Telegram. You have the option of choosing between 1, 3, 6, or 12 months.
- After the process has been completed, the app will remove permanently your Telegram account from your Android or IOS device.
Please note if you have not accessed your Telegram account within the specified timeframe your account will be permanently deleted along with all messages and contacts.
How to permanently delete a Telegram account by using the web browser
Telegram takes a few months for deleting their account from Android or iPhone and users may not want to wait for that much time.
Telegram offers a fast option to delete your account from any web browser.
- Open Telegram Deactivation Page from any web browser on mobile or PC.
- Enter the mobile number that you have used while creating the Telegram account and add country code before entering your mobile number. Next, click on Next.
- You will be receiving an alphanumeric code in the Telegram mobile application. Enter the code and sign in to your Telegram account.
- Select Delete Account Option in the Telegram section. The reason for deleting your account will be requested by Telegram and this is optional.
- To delete your Telegram account, you have to confirm once more. Click on Yes, delete my Account.